We can help you fight your misdemeanor assault charges

In Texas, statutory assault is occurs when the defendant intentionally, knowingly, recklessly:

  • Causes injury or inflicts bodily harm on someone, including their spouse
  • Threatens to cause injury or threatens to inflict bodily harm on someone, including their spouse
  • Commits acts of physical contact against another person, knowing that the other person will find the contact offensive and/or provocative.

The Monks Law Firm of Houston, Texas focuses on defending clients charged with misdemeanor assault With over three decades of experience in Greater Houston courts, Mike and Pat Monks have a proven track record of fighting for their clients’ rights.

monks law

What is Misdemeanor Assault?

Misdemeanor assault occurs when an individual commits an act of statutory assault against another. However, state law specifically notes when an act of statutory assault warrants a misdemeanor charge. These charges are less serious than felony assault, however, they can still result in jail time and significant fines.

Texas law has three classes of misdemeanor assault: Class A (the most serious), Class B, and Class C (least serious). The State of Texas defines these as:

A Class C Misdemeanor occurs when the defendant threatens to injure or harm another person with no other aggravating factors present. If convicted, the defendant faces a $500 fine.

Class B Misdemeanor occurs when the defendant commits a statutory assault against another person who is a sports participant. This could be during the performance or in retaliation it. The maximum penalties the defendant can face is up to 180 days in jail and/or up-to a $2,000 fine.

Class A Misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanors and one level below third-degree felony assault. This charge is a result of a defendant physically harming another individual without any other aggravating factors present. In addition, law enforcement can levy this charge when the defendant commits offensive or provocative physical contact against an elderly individual. Defendants can face a penalty of up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.

What is the difference between a misdemeanor and felony assault?

Generally, misdemeanors become felonies through various factors. Some of these factors include if the victim is:

  • A family member and/or household member
  • Public official
  • Witness
  • A domestic romantic partner
  • Security officer
  • Informant
  • Previous conviction of a similar offense against the aforementioned
  • Police officer
  • Public servant
  • Emergency worker

If you are facing serious felony assault charges rather than misdemeanor charges, please click here for more information.

Call The Monks Law firm today

If you are facing misdemeanor assault charges, you need a Houston area criminal defense attorney that is going to fight for you. Mike and Pat Monks has provided effective defense for defendants facing misdemeanor assault charges for over three decades. Click here to contact the firm today.

Contact Us