DUI lawyer Houston needed? There are strict penalties against driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Texas, and the penalties are based on a variety of factors. Your license type, age, and additional circumstances such as whether there was a minor in the car and whether someone was injured or killed as a result of drunk driving all have an impact on the penalty. First, second, and third offenses of DUI each have progressively harsher penalties, as well. Whether you have been charged with a first or subsequent offense, contact an experienced DUI lawyer Houston.
DUI Intervention and Education Programs
Every element of a DUI should be taken seriously, and penalties and fees should be taken care of in a timely manner. It is essential that DUI offenders follow through to take education programs that are ordered by the court.
First-time DUI offenders who are given probation must take the Texas DWI Education program. The program must be completed, as any DUI lawyer Houston will urge offenders to do. The 12-hour DWI Education program, which must be completed within 180 days of the date probation was granted, includes:
- How the body, mind, and driving capabilities are affected by alcohol and drugs;
- Texas DUI laws and cost of DWI; and
- Dependency and substance abuse.
A consequence of failing to complete the TX DWI Education program is that the offender’s license will be revoked and cannot be reinstated until the educational program has been completed. To avoid this or know your other options, talk to an attorney Houston TX.
DUI Intervention Program
Repeat offenders should contact a DUI lawyer Houston. Those who have had previous DWI offenses are required to take the DWI Intervention Program. This program delves more deeply into topics such as self-esteem, lifestyle issues, alcoholism, relapse prevention, and support groups to help, such as 12-Step and Al-Anon. If a repeat offender fails to complete this 32-hour long course, his or her driver’s license will be revoked until it has been completed.
Alcohol Education Program for Minors
Any minors who are DWI or DUI offenders are required to take the Alcohol Education Program for Minors, although taking the program is sometimes substituted by a requirement of doing community service. Failure to complete the program or the 8 to 12 hours of community service within 90 days will result in a six-month license suspension.
All DUI offenses can have serious consequences. If you have been charged with drunk driving, contact us at Monks Law Firm, P.C. today for a qualified and experienced DUI lawyer Houston.