Criminal lawyer in Houston TX
Criminal lawyer in Houston TX can possibly get your felony or misdemeanor case dismissed or can represent you in a case in which you are found not guilty. Monks Law Firm P.C. specializes in representing clients accused of driving while intoxicated (DWI), possession of drugs and weapons, domestic violence, petitions for termination of probation and nondisclosure, expungements, and more. Your best chance of getting the best possible outcome is by hiring a criminal lawyer in Houston TX. A Criminal lawyer Houston can help you navigate the justice system and receive the best possible outcome for you.
Driving while intoxicated is an illegal activity that is responsible for an injury or fatality in Texas every 20 minutes. The best policy that anyone can have is never to drink and drive. For drivers in Texas, the legal limit for alcohol is a blood alcohol concentration or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%. Regardless of BAC, however, a person can be found guilty of intoxication if impaired due to alcohol or another type of drug. In addition, drivers and passengers who have an open container of alcohol in a vehicle can be fined up to $500.
If there are passengers in your vehicle under 15 years of age and you are charged with DWI, you can also be charged with child endangerment. If you are found guilty of a DWI with a child passenger, it is important for you to obtain the services of an experienced criminal lawyer Houston TX. The possible punishments for this offense include:
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- Up to two years of incarceration in a state jail
- Loss of your driver’s license for 180 days.
We can help you avoid these penalties, just give us a call and allow us to be your Criminal Defense lawyer Houston.
Reasons to Avoid a DWI
New penalties and fees for DWI convictions have been added through the years by Texas legislators. With each DWI offense, there are harsher penalties and an increasingly greater need for a qualified criminal lawyer in Houston TX. The following are penalties of a first DWI offense:
- A fine of up to $2,000.
- Incarceration in the county jail for up to 180 days.
- A possible probation condition is ignition interlock.
- Annual fee of up to $2,000 for three years, to retain your driver’s license.
- Hundreds of dollars in court costs.
- A lifetime DWI conviction that cannot be expunged or sealed.
For a third offense, confinement in prison for 2 to 10 years is among the possible penalties. To know your options you need to talk to a Houston criminal lawyer.
If you have been charged with a DWI or another criminal offense, contact Monks Law Firm, your criminal lawyer Houston TX.