Best DWI lawyer in Houston TX should be sought if you face charges for driving while intoxicated (DWI). The penalties for DWI in Texas are harsh, and it is important to seek legal counsel quickly so that the best defense can be made. There are many considerations to a case, any of which could possibly lead to a dismissal. Contrary to what many people believe, traffic citations can be disputed, including drunk driving charges. There are many reasons to hire a DWI Lawyers in Houston and here are a few.

Signs of Impairment

A police officer in Texas may pull you over if there are observations that indicate a possible case of drunk driving. If this happens, you will want to hire the best DWI lawyer in Houston TX. Some behaviors considered possible signs of impairment include:

  • Weaving between lanes
  • Drifting from one side of the lane to the other
  • Driving much slower than the speed limit
  • Nearly hitting something or someone with an automobile
  • Straddling the line between two lanes
  • Erratic braking
  • Making a turn too narrowly or too widely
  • Driving with the tires on the center lines
  • Correcting the course of an automobile by swerving

Implied Consent

In Texas, there is an “implied consent” law which says that you consent to one or more tests being taken of your breath or blood for the purpose of determining what your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is if an officer has probable cause to believe that you are driving an automobile or a boat while intoxicated. If you need someone for a DWI or a CDL Ticket Lawyer Houston contact our office at Monks Law Firm, P.C. for the Best DWI lawyer in Houston TX.

If you refuse to take a blood or breath test, the refusal will usually get your license suspended for at least 180 days. The officer will take your driver’s license at the point of the refusal and give you a temporary permit good for 41 days. One reason to hire the best DWI lawyer in Houston TX is to ensure that you don’t miss any important deadlines. You have only 15 days in which to request a hearing to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license. If you do not request a hearing within that time frame or if you do meet the deadline but do not convincingly prove that the law enforcement officer did not have a reasonable belief that you were driving drunk or that you did not actually refuse the test, then your license will be suspended for 180 days, if it is your first refusal to test.

For the best possible outcome of a DWI charge, or any other Harris County Traffic Ticket Lawyer needs to contact our office for the Best dwi lawyer in Houston TX.

Contact Us