The Consequences of an Expired Registration Sticker are significant in the state of Texas. We understand how drivers might forget to renew their stickers as they try to maintain their busy lives. However, replacing your registration stickers on time has its benefits and failing to restore it has its consequences.
Approximately ninety days before the expiration month, The Department of Motor Vehicles sends a reminder about the required renewal of your registration sticker. It is the responsibility of the car owner to make sure the car pass state inspection test. For your car to undergo state inspection, you must show proof of insurance, your identification, as well as the inspection fee. If your vehicle doesn’t pass the test, owners can fix the problems found and have the car retested in15 days without paying additional inspection fees. If the car passes the inspection, you can either use your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) to register your vehicle online or take your VIR to your nearest Texas Tax Office. In addition to the VIR, you must have the following documents with you when you go to the tax office:
- Proof of Insurance
- Proof of Ownership
- Payment ( The standard vehicle registration fee is $51.75)
The Consequences of an Expired Registration Sticker
Car owners are given a five day grace period if their sticker is outdated pass the last day of the expiring month. If you continue to drive around with expired tags, it is considered a moving violation. As a result, you run the risks of receiving a $200 fine law enforcement and a three-year surcharge from the state of Texas. All in all, expired registration stickers are punishable by law.
Contact Us Today
We Understand sometimes things fall through the cracks as people try to manage their busy lives. However, we must all follow the laws of our great state of Texas. For more information about our company and our services, please contact us at 713.666.6657 or visit our website here.